Westward Expansion Update and Thoughts On Gladness

  

Coming at you live from California. We are about halfway into the trip and what a journey it has been. We have gone to/through 14 states (10 of which I had never been to before) and through 6 National Parks:

Rocky Mountain

Grand Teton

Yellowstone

Glacier

Olympic 

Crater Lake 

It has been an incredible adventure so far. The Parks are truly amazing places, full of history and natural wonder. My favorite has been Grand Teton, the Tetons jump out of the landscape and demand all of the attention you can muster. We hiked in a canyon between two of the Tetons and it was the best hike of my life.

From here we head to Yosemite and down the coast of California, then over through the southwest. 

I have been amazed by the variety that this country that I was born and raised in has to offer. There is so much to do and see, this land was truly made for you and me. 

As I have been in this adventure, I have been thinking of what an adventure with God could look like. If the Creator molded all of these wonderful things, how much more wonderful must the Creator be? And how much more wonderful must that adventure be? What does it mean to enjoy life, just because it’s life? I am a sum of parts that was placed on this earth, and I think God wants me to enjoy it, each bit of it. I think that gladness is a lifestyle, a mindset. Delighting in God is about enjoying Him in all the moments, even from your desk at work. It’s easy for me to be in awe of God underneath the Grand Tetons, but what about fostering a lifestyle of wonder in Gainesville, FL? Those are some of the things that have been going through my mind on this trip. 

That’s all I have for now, I am so grateful to be rumbling through my homeland. Until next time! 

“To be known by God and to know Him in every moment, that is the greatest adventure of all” 

-MFR

Leave a Reply

