Give.

I’m in the process of becoming who I am. This is an ongoing activity, and something that has been really been pressed into me lately is an idea of an all encompassing generosity, something that flows through our whole lives. I think it’s in our nature, that we were made for it. Made to give, to serve, to accept the otherness of life. I think that living a life of generosity leads us to a truer sense of who we are, it centers us, and we need to be centered. I’m not talking about just giving away some money here and there, I mean an all out this-is-not-about-me lifestyle. People don’t want your money, they want you, they want your gifts, your love.

There’s a book called “The Education of Little Tree” and it’s a favorite of some of the men I respect most in the world. One of the main lessons I learned from that book is that when you have something good, you give it away, to as many people as you can. What I really hope that we can learn to do is to be incredibly generous with ourselves and our gifts. We have a lot of gifts, gifts given by a Great and Generous God, and those gifts are good. Your talents, passions, personality, and life are all life-transforming gifts that we can either hold on to and keep to ourselves in our small little world, or step forward into God’s big story and give them away. The world needs your gifts, is clamoring for them. The power and love of the Creator of the universe resides in YOU. Give that love and power away, every chance you get.

God gives and gives and gives so much that we don’t have to hold onto everything we have so that we’ll be secure. Instead, His giving is so immense that we can pass it all along to the people around us and still never run out. We can give without holding back. When I make my life all about me, it’s a small place to be, it’s a story that people don’t want to hear. We’re made to stand for others, to live for others. I’m finding that this existence is not about me, it’s about a Creator and His people, and everyday we’re invited into it. Invited to give ourselves away.

So here’s to a more generous life.

Mark

 

Leave a Reply

