Stir it up!

I don’t understand it, why am I so forgetful? Why are we all so forgetful? I know that I am deeply and irreversibly loved by God, I know that everything I truly yearn for is already secured in the work Jesus did for me, I know that grace is so radical and sufficient. I know these things to be true, but the life I live each day points to the reality that I am very quick to forget their truth. I search for love from other people and not Jesus, I look to the world to satisfy my wants, I try to earn God’s favor. Why? I don’t know why. The truth of the gospel has been hammered into my brain for my entire life, I should remember these things right? For whatever reason that is not the case, I fail to truly believe that Jesus satisfies me, and this is the reality for us as humans, broken humans. I do know that there is a way for us to remember the beauty of the gospel, and being the relational beings that God created us to be, it’s not surprising that the best way to remember is through EACH OTHER.

In his second letter, Peter says this,

 Therefore I intend always to remind you of these qualities, though you know them and are established in the truth that you have. I think it right, as long as I am in this body, to stir you up by way of reminder

We are made to remind each other! Remind each other of God’s love, of His grace, of what Jesus did on the cross, and of the reality that all is accomplished and we can rest. I hope to do this more,  I hope you do it more to the people around you, and I hope you remind me, because chances are that I am forgetting, and I need a voice outside of myself to tell me that I am loved. And I bet, that the more we remind each other, the less we will forget.

So remember, you are loved irrevocably, Jesus has done it all, and it is finished, let’s celebrate!

-Mark

Leave a Reply

