Learning to Accept Love

Our “behavior” will not be changed long with self-discipline, but fall in love and a human will accomplish what he never thought possible. The laziest of men will swim the English channel to win his woman. I think what Rick said is worth repeating that by accepting God’s love for us, we fall in love with Him, and only then do we have the fuel we need to obey.

Donald Miller

Accepting God’s love is tough. It really is. I mean, saying that we accept it is super easy, I can do that all the time every day, but actually accepting it? That’s something else entirely. It’s really hard to truly coming to terms with the fact that God loves us unconditionally all the time, wherever we are. God’s grace doesn’t make sense, and neither does His love. Everything in our culture points to ‘you get what you earn’, and ‘you get what you deserve’. God could not be more different, we literally deserve nothing of what He is offering us, and the wild thing is that He is offering to GIVE us more than the world could ever offer, at no cost. Yet it is so hard to accept this love and grace in a real way where I let it break down my walls of control and self-reliance, but the reality is that I will never be able to change my sinful behavior on my own, NEVER. Seriously, I can’t fix myself, I can’t fix my family, I can’t fix those around me. I’m a broken person surrounded by broken people. But, God’s love and grace is sufficient. So that best thing I can do, the best thing any of us can do, is learn to accept that unconditional, unlimited love and grace. Honestly it’s the only thing that doesn’t leave us flat on our faces.

Much love,

Mark

Leave a Reply

