W-O-R-R-Y

The week after drop/add can be one of my most stressful, classes are getting serious but I am rarely mentally ready for the workload until I get into the rhythm of the semester, which takes longer than a week. Last night I was looking over my online College Algebra class with Zack, and you’d think when you hear it’s just an algebra class that it would be pretty easy, and the subject matter might be fairly easy, but the professor gives SO MUCH WORK. So I was just frustrated last night because its an easy class that the professor is trying to make hard by giving loads of work, and was immediately stressed/worried about the time I will have to put into this class. A few things I can take away from my experience last night: 1) Don’t complain, no one likes it when people complain, get over it. 2) DON’T WORRY, nothing good comes from worrying. 3) It’s work Mark, God wants us to work. I want to touch on my worrying right now.

Luke 12:22-26

22 Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23 For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? 26 Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

To me, us worrying is almost saying to God that we don’t trust Him to take care of us. HE’S GOT OUR BACK. I can’t think of a time when I enjoyed worrying. When I worry, there’s a better chance I’m gonna get a zit than to gain any peace of mind.

Philippians 4:4-7

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Sounds pretty easy to me. Will it be easy? Probably not, no doubt I will worry again soon enough, probably sometime today, but it all starts with a prayer, and the knowledge that I CAN’T make myself stop worrying, I can only pray that God will work healing in my heart, that He’ll show me to trust in Him and to allow His peace to guard my heart and my mind. He offers such awesome freedom from worry, and I want it.

Dance in His freedom today.

-Mark

Leave a Reply

