Community

I love community. Living breathing community. As a staff we went through some hardships this past week to the degree that we felt the pain of those around us, during Staff Church there was some deep stuff during prayers of the people and the CITs went though some tough stuff within their community. I just love that we are working and living and growing together as a community, we are so vulnerable around each because we are so committed to our work here and the relationships we’re building. More people have seen me cry here than anywhere else I’d say, and I’ve seen people cry multiple times here. Just being so invested here really puts you in a new place emotionally.

I had an interesting experience with camper today, his name is William and he is in cabin 3. I was with him by the low dive today and he WOULD NOT jump because he was too afraid. He just couldn’t process that it was a 3 foot drop into water with a lifeguard right there to keep him safe. He kept saying whenever I would urge him to jump “I’m not going to conquer my fear, I’m not going to conquer my fear.” This went on for about 20 minutes, and finally braved it and we jumped together. Then he wanted to go again, and again, and again. I loved it, I love seeing people conquering their fears, and seeing whats on the other side, “that’s some powerful stuff”

I bought a guitar two weeks ago, it was completely unexpected, I did not go out that day planning to buy a guitar, but it just felt right. I have been loving it, I’m slowly getting the hang of it, learning some cords and strumming patterns, definitely plan to keep working hard at it. I think guitars are so cool, I’m so emotionally driven and I feel that the guitar will be a great way for me to get those emotions out and to let my soul shout.

That’s all for now, thank you so much to those of you who are reading.

-MFR

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sounds like you’re having a great time. Continue being a great mentor to others.

  2. Mae Beth Ragland July 12, 2011 — 9:22 pm

    Thanks mark for your words. They are powerful. God is giving you these experiences to encourage and stretch you in your walk with Him and your walk with others. Keep sharing the story God is writing on your heart. “God is doing exceedingly abundantly more than you could ask or imagine” I love you!

Leave a Reply

